List of 2012 Best of the Beat Business Award Winners

Folks gathered on the third floor of the Old U.S. Mint Wednesday night for OffBeat‘s annual Best of the Beat Business Awards, recognizing the dedicated, tireless movers and shakers in the local music industry. The event also honored this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winners, profiled in our current issue: legends of New Orleans R&B Clarence “Frogman” Henry, Al “Carnival Time” Johnson, Robert Parker, the Dixie Cups, Frankie Ford, Ernie Vincent and Jean Knight; Music Education recipient Jonathan Bloom; Music Business recipient Jimmy Anselmo; and Heartbeat Award winner Big Chief Howard Miller.

Read on for a complete list of the evening’s winners, and don’t miss Friday night’s star-studded 25th anniversary awards bash and concert at Generations Hall — you can still purchase tickets by clicking here.

Best Club: One Eyed Jacks

Best Radio Station: WWOZ

Best Large Festival: French Quarter Festival

Best Festival Outside of New Orleans: Gretna Heritage Festival

Best Neighborhood Bar Featuring Music: Buffa’s

Best Neighborhood Festival/Best Concert Promoter: Louisiana Cajun and Zydeco Festival / Scott Aiges

Best Recording Studio: The Living Room

Best Record Label/Music Business of the Year: Basin Street Records

Best Record Store: Louisiana Music Factory

Best Instruments Store: New Orleans Music Exchange

Best Booking Agency: White Oak

Best Manager: Tony Ciaccio, Hypersoul

Best Club Owner/Manager: Dixie Rubin and Dale Triguero, Chickie Wah Wah

Bourbon Street Award: Earl Bernhardt and Pam Fortner, Tropical Isle

Musicians Resource Award: Tipitina’s Music Office Co-Op

Community Music Awareness Award: Peoples Health

Community Music Award/Nonprofit Achievement: The Roots of Music

Best Producer: Carlo Nuccio

Best Studio Sound Engineer: Chris George

Best Music Attorney: Ashlye M. Keaton

Lifetime Achievement in Music Business: Jimmy Anselmo

Lifetime Achievement in Music Education: Jonathan Bloom

Heartbeat Award: Big Chief Howard Miller

Lifetime Achievement in Music:
Al “Carnival Time” Johnson
Clarence “Frogman” Henry
Jean Knight
Frankie Ford
Ernie Vincent
Robert Parker
The Dixie Cups

Congratulations to all the winners, thanks for coming, and see you all tomorrow night!