Here are the winners of OffBeat’s 2018 Best of the Beat Business Awards

Last night (January 24), OffBeat hosted its annual Best of the Beat Business Awards ceremony. Housed in Loyola University’s stunning Louis J. Roussel Performance Hall, the ceremony acknowledged our Lifetime Achievement Award winners as well as winners in categories ranging from best club to best festivals.

The following is a list of winners:

Best Club: Tipitina’s 

Best Radio Station: WWOZ

Best Large Festival: Buku Music + Art Project 

Best Festival Outside of New Orleans: Bogalusa Blues & Heritage Festival

Best Neighborhood Festival: Treme Creole Gumbo Festival

Best Recording Studio: Marigny Studios

Record Label of the Year: Louisiana Red Hot Records

Producer of the Year: Ben Ellman

Best Record Store: Louisiana Music Factory

Best Instrument Store: Webb’s Bywater Music

Best Studio Sound Engineer: Mike Harvey, NOLA Recording Studio

Best Booking Agency: White Oak Productions 

Best Manager: MidCitizen Entertainment

Best Music Attorney: Edgar “Dino” Gankendorff

Best Club Owner or Manager: Wesley Schmidt (Snug Harbor)

Best Concert Promoter: Winter Circle Productions

Musician Resource Award: The Sync Up Conference 

Community Music Award: Send Me A Friend 

Music Business of the Year: Live Nation (Russell Doussan, President- Live Nation Entertainment and Mark Roberts will accept)


Lifetime Achievement in Business: Doris Bastiansen, Kerry Irish Pub

Lifetime Achievement in Music Education: John Snyder, Loyola Music Business Studies

Positive Vibrations HeartBeat Award, Culture Bearer: Herreast Harrison

Positive Vibrations HeartBeat Award, Musician: Dr. Michael White

Lifetime Achievement in Music: Walter “Wolfman” Washington

Congratulations to all the winners, and many thanks for supporting the music industry of New Orleans.

On Thursday, January 31, OffBeat hosts the Best of the Beat Music Awards, where we toast the musicians who keep New Orleans’ pulse going. Tickets for the event, which features performances from Cha Wa, Water Seed, Sean Ardoin, Nesby Phips (and the Grid Band), Gregg Martinez & The Delta Kings (with special guest T.K. Hulin), The Iceman Special and an all-star tribute to Wolfman, are available here.